Jessica Alba Wants to Sell you Some Banner Ads
It's a pretty good time to be a downunder entrepreneur : Yesterday in AFR it was announced internet advertising is again the fastest growing media - 60% p.a the last 2 years. It's now bigger than cinema, pay TV and outdoor advertising combined. On current growth its going past radio and magazines in the not too distant future. After 10 years on most sides of this industry - it's a great time to be in control of one's next steps. Nearly everything I'm doing I've done before multiple times, however the difference this time in 'my own' business is to combine all the elements into a successful package - Done right. Yup, right. I dont believe I've ever worked on a website in a decade where end-end I was happy with the result. Yesterday I was talking to Frank Arrigo (Australia's Blogfather as he says he has been nicknamed) about our plans for an Aussie Blog Network attached to gnoos.com.au, because first and foremost there's no group to join for Aussie bloggers who want to connect with fellow bloggers, exchange tips, get more traffic, hookup and down the track make money. It was timely then that today I spoke to Original Gangsta Banner Pimp Daddy Karl Morris, now GM of Soush, which is a subsidiary of Ansearch Ltd, the newest publicly listed pureplay search engine in Australia. I couldnt shut him up about how they are helping monetise a range of (announced, and soon to be) Aussie Websites : As well as their recent google publisher deal. I was interested as I thought I might learn a few things about how it could be applied to Aussie Blogs :
- CPC + CPM Advertising Options to Aussie Website Owners
- 100% fill rate on sites represented
- 50,000,000 page impressions est per month with two ad units per page
- Total 100,000,000 ad impressions.
- 70% Used for Paid Advertising
- 70,000,000 ad units to sell
- 0.2% est clickthrough Rate (CTR)
- $0.30 avg Cost Per Click (CPC)
- 70,000,000 x 0.2% (CTR) = 1,400,000 clicks
- 1,400,000 * $0.30 (CPC) = $420,000 revenue per month
- $5m+ annualised revenue, with larger share going to Website Owner
Given the lack of website representation options in this country other than Overture, and global online options like Adsense, Blogads and Adbrite, "localised" (eg australia) and "verticalised" (eg blogging) ad selling makes total sense to me. Jessica would agree.
- CPC + CPM Advertising Options to Aussie Website Owners
- 100% fill rate on sites represented
- 50,000,000 page impressions est per month with two ad units per page
- Total 100,000,000 ad impressions.
- 70% Used for Paid Advertising
- 70,000,000 ad units to sell
- 0.2% est clickthrough Rate (CTR)
- $0.30 avg Cost Per Click (CPC)
- 70,000,000 x 0.2% (CTR) = 1,400,000 clicks
- 1,400,000 * $0.30 (CPC) = $420,000 revenue per month
- $5m+ annualised revenue, with larger share going to Website Owner
Given the lack of website representation options in this country other than Overture, and global online options like Adsense, Blogads and Adbrite, "localised" (eg australia) and "verticalised" (eg blogging) ad selling makes total sense to me. Jessica would agree.
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